ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List– In the year 1998, South Africa was the champion. In the year 2000, the team of New Zealand emerged victoriously. In the year 2002, both India and Sri Lanka were declared the winner of the ICC KnockOut Winner. Wes Indies was the hero of the ICC Champions Trophy in the year 2004 whereas Australia were the winners in 2006 and 2009. India ruled the roost in the ICC Champions Trophy held in the year 2013.

In the year 2004, England hosted the fourth season of the Champions Trophy. The Caribbean somehow managed to snatch the victory from the jaws of the host country by mere two wickets. It was a really embarrassing situation for the host nation that was expecting victory. The fifth season was hosted in Asia and the host was none other than India. The title went to Australia that packed the team of West Indies at a low score of 138 runs and managed a comfortable and impressive victory. The next season was hosted in the South Africa although previously it was decided that the tournament would be played in Pakistan but due to security concerns the hosts were changed in an advanced stage.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

The Winners of the ICC Champions Trophy

ICC Championship trophy was played in the year 1998, 2000,2002,2004,2006, 2009, 2013, and now the next tournament will be held in 2017. The countries that have lifted the ICC Championship trophy are South Africa, Australia (twice), India, West Indies, New Zealand, and England. Australia is one of the most dominating teams of this game and winner of cricket world cup several times. It managed to victory in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. India, Sri Lanka are also two dominating teams from the Asian subcontinent.

Winners of ICC Champions Trophy

Year Winner Runner-up Final Result Host
1998 South Africa West Indies South Africa won by 4 wickets Bangladesh
2000 New Zealand India New Zealand won by 4 wickets Kenya
2002 India, Sri-Lanka Sri Lanka and India named joint winners Sri Lanka
2004 West Indies England West Indies won by 2 wickets England
2006 Australia West Indies Australia won by 8 wickets India
2009 Australia New Zealand Australia won by 6 wickets South Africa
2013 India England India won by 5 runs England
2017 TBC TBC TBC England

Countries with number of titles and years

Country Number of Titles Year
Australia 2 2006, 2009
India 2 2002, 2013
South Africa 1 1998
New Zealand 1 2000
Sri Lanka 1 2002
West Indies 1 2004

The upcoming season would be jointly hosted by England and Wales once again. It is believed that upcoming season would be packed with excitement. The eight qualifying teams are India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, England and South Africa. Unfortunately, West Indies is not a part this time. Everything has been planned and set for the competition and the schedule is set to come in force in the month of June. The showdown will take place on 18th June. Cricket fans are extensively waiting for the tournament to begin and they can enjoy the game. Almost all the participating teams are very strong and anyone can lift the title. But, which team emerges victorious, only time can tell. ICC Champions Trophy 2017 live streaming

ICC Champions trophy

The game of cricket has the substantial fan following on this planet. The ODI version of this game has become very popular. The ICC Championship trophy is deemed to be the second most important title after the crown of World Cup winners. Both of these tournaments are managed, governed and controlled by the International Cricket Council. ICC Championship trophy is held on the gap of every two years with eight participating teams.

The inaugural tournament was played in Bangladesh and the competition was titled as Knockout trophy due to its format. South African cricket team was dominating the horizon of cricket at that time and it managed to grab the trophy by thrashing West Indies by 4 wickets. After the first two seasons, the competition was changed from Knockout to Championship trophy. The third season was played in Sri Lanka with the changed format.

About the author


Today Sportek Latest Sports News Live Updates Schedules PDF Points Table, Analysis of all major sports Like Cricket, Football, Rugby, Tennis, Formula 1, hockey, and WWE wrestling

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment