Football Uncategorized

Premier League 2016-17 TV Channels Broadcasting

Premier League 2016-17 TV Channels Broadcasting – The season of the Premier League runs from August to May. The Premier League is a corporation of 20 member clubs. These clubs act as shareholders. The teams of the league play 38 matches each. The total number of matches played thus becomes 380. The competition came into existence on 20th February, 1992, after a break away from the Football League, that was originally founded in 1888. One of the motives of the break away was to clinch a lucrative television rights deal. The popularity of the league can be understood from a single fact that it generates € 2.2 billion per year in domestic as well as the international television rights. With a potential TV audience of 4.7 billion people, the League is the most-watched football league in the world.

Premier League 2016-17 TV Channels Broadcasting

Premier League 2016-17 TV Channels Worlwide
COUNTRY TV Channels Coverage
United Kingdom  SkySports &BTSports SkySports will have 138 live games in uk per season while BT Sports will broadcast 56 live games a season for next three seasons
United States NBC Extended coverage on TV, internet mobile till 2021/22 season
Canada  SportsNet &TSN SportsNet and TSN will share live coverage of EPL in Canada
Australia  OPTUS Moblie telecommunication company awarded extended rights for TV, internet and mobile. A dedicated 24/7 epl channel
New Zealand SkyNZ(Likely) Coliseum has opted not to renew their deal for EPL coverage which leaves the door open for SkyNZ. But no contract has been made yet
Germany  Perform Group Digital company “Perform group” has won the rights for Premier league in Germany/Austria/Liechtenstein.
France  Altice Telecommunication company Altice signed three year deal for Premier league coverage in France on TV, internet and mobile.
Sweden  Viasat,Viaplay MTG owned TV channels Viasat and their online streaming service Viaplay extended their TV rights deal for premier league in Sweden, Final, Denmark.
Finland  Viasat,Viaplay Live
Denmark  Viasat,Viaplay Live
Norway  TV2 TV 2 Signed another three year deal for EPL rights till 2018-19 season
Spain  Moviestar Subscription based channel Moviestar will have exclusive rights in Spain
Middle East(Arab Countries) beIN SportsArabia beIN Sports will have live coverage in both English and Arabic in most Middle-eastern countries for next three seasons
Caribbeans  Flow Sports Cable & Wireless inc owned “FlowSports” signed premier league tv rights deal for exclusive coverage in 32 caribbean countries.
India STAR Sports Star India signed three year deal for exclusive tv, mobile/internet coverage in India from 2016 to 2019.
Italy  FoxSportsItalia Live
African Countries  SuperSports SuperSports will have live coverage in most of sub-Saharan African countries on free-to-air basis
South Africa SuperSports SuperSports continue their premier league coverage in South Africa for another three years atleast till 2018-19 season
Netherlands  FoxSports(netherlands) Live
Russia NTV Plus Live & Highlights
South Korea  SBS Sports Live
Switzerland  Altice non-exclusive rights signed by Altice for Andorra, Luxembourg and Switzerland
Brazil  ESPN Brazil ESPN has signed a three year TV rights deal for EPL in Brazil
Latin America Countries DirectTv Direct TV 8 matches weekly
Mexico Sky Mexico Extensive live coverage in mexico of all 380 matches a season
Central America Sky Mexico Sky will also cover premier league in Central American countries as well as the Dominican Republic.
Czech Republic DigiSport  Live
Poland  NC+ Extensive coverage on both TV and mobile/internet from 2016-17 season
Portugal  Benfica TV Live
Philippines beIN Sports Live
Pakistan StarSports Live (Selected matches)
Philippines beIn Sports &ABC-CBN Live
Singapore Singtel Live
Ireland Setanta Sports Setanta covers live premier league games in Ireland but Irish viewers als have the option to buy Sky/BT Sports packages.
Greece OTE TV Live
Ukraine TRK Football Live
Other European Countries Local channels (check listings) Live in most countries

TV Channels Broadcasting Premier League 2016-17 Season: The broadcasting rights of the League have been announced. In the United States, NBC channel has got the extensive right to broadcast the matches of the league. In India, Star Sports have won the exclusive right to broadcast the matches. The channel will be broadcasting the matches till 2019. In the United Kingdom, Sky Sports and BT Sports will jointly broadcast the matches. The people of Canada will get the live coverage of the matches through SportsNet & TSN, whereas Octopus will be broadcasting the matches for the people of Australia. In Italy, FoxSports Italia will be broadcasting the matches of the League. Russians will enjoy the live coverage and highlights of the matches through NTV Plus, while the people of Latin American countries can enjoy the matches of the League live on Direct TV. In Spain, Moviestar has won the exclusive right of broadcasting the matches of the league.

About the author


Today Sportek Latest Sports News Live Updates Schedules PDF Points Table, Analysis of all major sports Like Cricket, Football, Rugby, Tennis, Formula 1, hockey, and WWE wrestling

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment