T20 Global League

T20 Global League Team Franchise Owners

T20 Global League

T20 Global League is a Twenty20 cricket tournament which is said to be held in South Africa. This is definitely going to be a big franchise after the inaugural season. The first season of the T20 Global League is scheduled to be played in the fourth quarter 2017-18. Worldwide, this T20 Global League is creating a lot of buzzes. This is basically the brainchild of Cricket South Africa (CSA). In its team ownership process as of March 2015, the interest is not less. More than 150 expressions of interest have been shown to this T20 Global League Live. Both South African and international parties have shown interest in the ownership process. This is only because of the popularity and the rate in which this League is going viral.

IPL owners buy teams in CSA T20 Global League.

As mentioned above, this T20 Global League is creating a buzz all around the world. This is the reason why this attracted the IPL owners as well. The Indian Premier League owners found this interesting and owned some of the teams of the CSA T20 Global League. The teams chosen by owners were unveiled at a function in London on 19 June 2017. The team owners are and their teams are:

*.Shah Rukh Khan(Kolkata Knight Riders)

*.Rana Fawad(Lahore Qalandars)

*.GMR Group(Delhi Daredevils)

*.Muhammad Javed Afridi(Peshawar Zalmi)

*.Osman Osman(SA Consortium)

*.Ajay Sethi (Channel 2 Group)

*.Mustaq Brey(Brimstone Investment Corporation)

*.Sushil Kumar(City Sports)

Franchise Owner Team Marquee Player
Shah Rukh Khan Cape Town JP Duminy
Mr Fawad Rana Durban Hashim Amla
GMR Group Johannesburg Kagiso Rabada
Mr Javed Afridi Benoni Quinton de Kock
Mr Osman Osman Pretoria AB de Villiers
Mr Ajay Sethi Port Elizabeth Imran Tahir
Mr Mustaq Brey Stellenbosch Faf du Plessis
Mr Sushil Kumar Bloemfontein David Miller

Among the teams owned by many, we see two of the IPL owners. First, there is Shah Rukh Khan who owns Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL. Secondly, Delhi Daredevils owner- GMR Group owns a team as well.

These 8 privately owned teams are just yet another characteristic that proves that it is a league just like IPL, BBL, and CPL. The interests for owning the teams were statistically seen. It showed that 39{6d5c0de61785b6465e85db141e2d32959c251e0e25a73ac667d28d1a1cbcc092} of the interest came locally and 35{6d5c0de61785b6465e85db141e2d32959c251e0e25a73ac667d28d1a1cbcc092} from India.

CSA has also confirmed that the league is going to star players from all around the world. Other domestic competitions which happened in South Africa featured many star players. Kieron Pollard, Kevin Pietersen, and Andre Russell were some of them. The tournaments were, however, a failure. There were low-key competitions and many were not interested in it. However, the new T20 Global league by South Africa is something which is going to draw everybody’s attention. The logo and the name are yet to be confirmed but one thing is already confirmed. That is, the new tournament is not going to be a flop.

About the author


Today Sportek Latest Sports News Live Updates Schedules PDF Points Table, Analysis of all major sports Like Cricket, Football, Rugby, Tennis, Formula 1, hockey, and WWE wrestling

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment